Complete list of Independent Spirit Award 2023 nominations

‘Emily the Criminal’, ‘Aftersun’, ‘Bones and All’ and ‘The Inspection’ also racked up major nominations.

The Film Independent Spirit Award 2023 nominations were unveiled on Tuesday, November 22, capping last year’s top achievements in independent cinema. The awards ceremony is more than three months away — it takes place March 4 in Santa Monica — but these films are gaining traction in the months ahead on their way to Oscars and other awards. This year’s crop of nominees was revealed by hosts Taylour Paige (March winner for Best Female Lead, representing “Zola”) and Raúl Castillo (Best Supporting Actor nominee for 2018’s “We the Animals”). . This year’s TV nominees will be revealed later on December 13.

‘Everything Everywhere All at Once’ topped the nominations in eight categories, followed by ‘TÁR’ with seven nominations, including Best Picture, Best Lead Performance, Best Supporting Performance, Best Screenplay and Best Director.

In a first for Film Independent, this year’s awards moved to gender-neutral acting categories in leading and supporting roles across film and television. Other category updates include new awards for Best Breakthrough Performance (Film) and Best Supporting Performance in a New Scripted Series (Television). All performance categories, excluding Breakthrough Performance, can submit up to 10 nominees.

Earlier this year, the organization also announced that the budget cap for eligible films has increased to $30 million, with the budget cap for the John Cassavetes Award now at $1 million. Meanwhile, in response to the ongoing impact of COVID on filmmakers and the industry, Film Independent is once again forgoing the theatrical rush typically required for eligibility, ensuring greater opportunities for independent filmmakers to be recognized and celebrated.

The Film Independent Spirit Award nominations mark the second major block of independent awards to define their nominees for the year in films. In late October, the Gotham Awards announced their lineup for the New York ceremony to take place on November 28, with Spirit-nominated films such as ‘TÁR’, ‘Everything Everywhere All at Once’ and ‘Aftersun’ leading the group.

You can watch the Film Independent Spirit Award nominations revealed virtually on YouTube.

Best feature

“Bones and All”

“Everything everywhere all at once”

“Our Father, the Devil”


“Women Who Talk”

Best director

Todd Field, “LIBRARY”

Kogonada, “After Yang”

Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, “Everything, everywhere, all at once”

Sarah Polley, “Women Who Talk”

Halina Reijn, “Bodies Bodies Bodies”

Best first film

“After Sun”

“Emily the Criminal”

“The Inspection”


“Palm trees and power lines”

Best Leading Performance

Cate Blanchett, “LIBRARY”

Dale Dickey, “A Love Song”

Mia Goth, “Pearl”

Regina Hall, “Honk for Jesus, save your soul”

Paul Mescal, “After Sun”

Aubrey Plaza, “Emily the Criminal”

Jeremy Pope, “The Inspection”

Taylor Russell, “Bones and Everything”

Andrea Riseborough, “To Leslie”

Michelle Yeoh, “Everything everywhere all at once”

Best Support Performance

Jamie Lee Curtis, “Everything everywhere all at once”

Brian Tyree Henry, “Causeway”

Nina Hoss, “TAR”

Brian d’Arcy James, “The Cathedral”

Ke Huy Quan, “Everything everywhere all at once”

Trevante Rhodes, “Bruiser”

Theo Rossi, “Emily the Criminal”

Mark Rylance, “Bones and Everything”

Jonathan Tucker, “Palm trees and power lines”

Gabrielle Union, “The Inspection”

Revolutionary performance

Frankie Corio, “After Sun”

Gracija Filipović, “Murina”

Stephanie Hsu, “Everything everywhere all at once”

Lily McInerny, “Palm Trees and Power Lines”

Daniel Zolghadri, “Funny Pages”

Best Screenplay

“After Yang”

“Catherine known as Birdy”

“Everything everywhere all at once”


“Women Who Talk”

Best First Screenplay

“Bodies Bodies Bodies”


“Emily the Criminal”

“Island of Fire”

“Palm trees and power lines”

Best photography

“After Sun”


“Neptune’s Frost”



Best Editing

“After Sun”


“Everything everywhere all at once”

“Marcel the shell with shoes”


Robert Altmann Award

“Women Who Talk”

Best Documentary

“A house made of splinters”

“Everything That Breathes”

“All the Beauty and the Bloodshed”


“Riotville USA”

Best international film


“Land of Joy”

“Leonor Will Never Die”

“Return to the Soul”

“Saint Omer”

Someone to Watch Award

Adamma Ebo, “Honk for Jesus, save your soul”

Nikyatu Jusu, “Nanny”

Araceli Lemos, “Holy Emy”

Truer Than Fiction Award

Isabel Castro, “Mja”

Reid Davenport, “I Didn’t See You There”

Rebeca Huntt, “Beba (Bayba)”

John Cassavetes Award

“The Desperate African”

“A Love Song”


“Santa Emi”

“Something in the Mud”

Producers Award

Liz Cardenas

Tory Lenosky

David Grove Visits Churchill

Signing up: Stay up to date on the latest film and television news! Sign up for our email newsletters here.

Leave a Comment